Sometimes It’s Time!

Sometimes it’s time.

Time to stop dreaming, thinking, planning, talking.

We spend a lot of time thinking and talking.  That’s not bad, it just doesn’t get us anywhere.  If we want to get anywhere with our dreams, the time comes to act…do something…take the first step.

Well, for me it’s time to act.  Time to do something.  Time to literally take the first step.  Time to stop talking and start walking.

Over two years ago I had a “thought.”  It turned into a dream…then a plan…then specific strategies were developed…a team to make the dream a reality was formed.  A lot of talking about the dream followed.  Two years passed and now it’s time.

Has this process ever happened in your life?  Well, it’s happened in my life before, but usually the dream fades after time. It was a good dream, but just a dream.  No action was taken.  I joined the long list of Americans who talk a lot, but nothing comes of the talking. This dream is different.  It has grown into a dream that is ready to explode into action.  But, it requires something special. It requires a first step.  That step is coming.

What is the difference between this dream and past dreams?  Two things.

1.  God.

I am convinced that this dream is from God.  He has called me to do something.  For awhile, I wasn’t sure if the dream was actually a call from God to act.  Now I am sure.  How do I know?  Go to the Bible story of God calling Samuel. (1 Samuel 3.)   When Samuel heard his name called during the night, he thought Eli, the priest, was calling him.  The call came three times before even Eli recognized it was God calling.  (Isn’t it amazing that even a religious leader can miss the call of God?)  Finally, Samuel knew it was God calling and answered Him.

I am convinced my current dream is a direct call from God to do something He wants done.

2.  Deadline.

I put a date and time when I would act.  That has made all the difference in the world.  Am I ready?  No.  Are we ever ready?  I can get ready forever.  However, I put a date and time to take the first step.  So, “getting ready” is over.  It’s time to act…time to take the first step. Exciting.

What is all this about?  It’s about my dream (God’s call) to walk across America.

The dream was born over two years ago.  Much preparation has gone into the dream.  A deadline was set.  That deadline is approaching.  On April 1, 2013, I will begin walking across America, from Southern California to New York City, Times Square.

In future blogs, I will share more details of this walk and the exciting journey of preparation, as well as the daily walk itself.

But, now I have two questions for you.

1. Do you have a dream?  2. What is keeping you from taking the first step?

Well, it’s time. Time for me to stop talking and start walking.

I hope it’s time for you, too.

I look forward to sharing more with you about my steps across America as I put “feet to my dream.”

I look forward to you sharing your dreams and your steps you take to put “feet to your dream.”

It’s time…to walk across America.  I invite you to follow my journey as I “blog across America” in my “walking with Jim” blog.

Jim/Walking with Jim



Categories: Jim's Welcome, On The Walk

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. Hi Jim,

    I am Lidia from Romania. On 3rd and 4th of May 2013 one group (around 20 persons) from our organization will walk 50 km “with you” in Brasov-Romania. We will pray for you, mission, family and so on. We will keep in touch. Follow your dream!

    • Hi Lidia,
      How exciting to have the lifting up of the home through the walk across America spread to Romania. Please tell the 20 walking with you that we will be praying for all of you on May 3 & 4. Maybe other countries will catch the vision of the walk in America and Romania to make it a “global walk for the home.”
      Blessings, Jim

  2. We can do it. “Global walk” sounds fantastic!
    with all the best,
    Lidia Muraru

Leave a Reply

