When Your Best Intentions Meet Reality

I have the best intentions.  I bet you do, too.

However, my best intentions sometimes run into reality.  When that happens, my intentions sometimes fade away or run and hide.

It’s happened to me on this walk across America.  I had planned to walk in the daytime and do many things at night, including add new posts to my blog.  Maybe even two or three a week.

Well, my wife and I have been on the walk 24 days, and I have entered 2 blogs instead of 6 or 9.  What happened?  REALITY.

Has that ever happened to your best intentions?  My reality on the walk has come in 10-12 hours a day of walking.  Days start at 4:30 am – 5:00 am and end at 10:30 – midnight.   Reality has included blisters, tweaked ankles and tired feet.  Reality has included some great visits with people, planned and unplanned.  Reality has included that blogs take time.  Plus, we are now RVing.  We’ve NEVER done that before.  Add hours per day.

What happened to my blogging plans?  Reality.  So, what should we do when our best intentions run into reality?

1. Revisit the intentions.  If they are really good, don’t abandon them.

2. Be determined to do your best intentions, even if the plan to carry them out has to be modified.

3.  Don’t give up on your best intentions.

4.  Start with something little that you have time to do (toward doing your best intentions.)

5.  Don’t blame reality.  Reality is life.  Revisit, regroup, and take small steps of action doing your best intentions.

So, that’s what I’m doing right now.  I’m accepting that blogging is harder than I thought, but well worth doing.  So, here is another post.  You’ll notice it’s a little shorter than my first posts on the walk.  That’s ok.

It’s one step.  It may not be a big step.  However, walking across America, going from California to New York, doesn’t require big steps.   Just a WHOLE LOT of little daily steps.  That’s reality.

Let me know what you have done when your best intentions have run into reality.  I’d like to hear from you and learn.  I have over 2500 miles before I get to New York and could use your help.

We live in a real world.  Sometimes it’s rugged, but it should not stop us from carrying out our best intentions.  They are so important to us and those around us.  That’s reality.

Jim/ Walking with Jim



Categories: From His Eyes, On The Walk

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. Thank you for sharing these great insights and bringing them to life with your own current example!

  2. I certainly understand where you are coming from, Jim. There’s an old saying about the best laid plans, and I have often seen mine go astray. I have been trying to have a knee replacement since last fall. The first appointment I postponed, the second in January also had to be postponed because my husband needed to have more cancer surgery. I have another appointment for April 30 (next Tuesday), and I’ve come down with a bad chest cold. So I am living with the reality of what I thought were good intentions. Maybe God has other ideas! Blessings!

    • Obstacles aren’t always a “no.” However, they do give us time to think and pray. Time is one of God’s greatest blessings to think, seek and pray. Enjoy the time with the Lord. He’ll give you the answers you need…in time.

Leave a Reply

