Glenda’s Glimpses #2

Here I am on the side of the road – “on the road again.”  Where are we?  We are climbing up and up on our way to Payson, Arizona.  I may need to take something for seasickness.  No, there is no water here, for sure, except maybe in these cacti.  (Like that word?)  Now, perhaps if Moses were here, he could strike the rocks – plenty of them here – and then we could have instant water.  Oh, yes, seasick.  You see it’s not from rolling waves, but passing cars and trucks.  I rock from side to side.  Actually I don’t think much about it anymore.

And you all wondered what I was going to do with my days.  Everything I do takes longer.  For instance, I am trying to fix my breakfast, but that has a whole new dimension.  You see, I have plain yogurt with cut up prunes that have stewed overnight, Ezekiel 4:9 raisin, cinnamon toast and vitamins.  Then for health sake (as if the yogurt dish wasn’t), I add freshly ground flaxseed.  To get the health benefit of flaxseeds, they have to be freshly ground and consumed in 20 minutes.  This is where the time and challenge comes in.  Since there isn’t a cord long enough and I hate to start the generator to grind them in my electric grinder, I bought a hand mill for seeds and spices.  (A dear friend, Cat James, went with me to a kitchen store to find it while we were all in Phoenix together.)  So here I am grinding and grinding and grinding and grinding.  By the time I get it ground, it will no longer have the health benefits.  Get my drift?  So I better put my nose hand to the grind.

Next time, maybe I will have to tell you about my daily second breakfast – high fiber cereal, oat bran, bananas and blueberries.  (To reach the blueberries in my high freezer, I have to get a stool – another time thing.). I top all of that that off with soy milk.  On second thought, you probably don’t need to hear any more about that.

In the meantime, be sure to keep grinding with The Lord.  He has a road for you to take that is not necessarily quick or easy, designed just for you with all the blessings and challenges, and keep your eyes on Him.

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.  Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and saw down at the right hand of the throne of God.   Hebrews 12:1-2

April 25, 2013



Categories: From Her Eyes, Glenda's Welcome

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. Grinding…good exercise! Then again…battery operated may speed things up! Big hugs to you both! Praying!

    • Do you know where I can find one? I have looked for battery operated but haven’t been able to find one. Of course, my shopping is very limited. Maybe my wrists need the excerise.

      • I searched but didn’t find anything yet. There was a sesame grinder but the reviews weren’t good. Still looking!

      • I found a pepper grinder that sorta’ works, but it is slow, too. When we get to a place that has more shopping, I think I will look for a pepper grinder that has a turn handle. Maybe that will save my wrists. 🙂

Leave a Reply

