I Never Walk Alone

One day on my walk across America, I was talking on the phone with a friend.  I stated that “I never walk alone.”  She replied, “That sounds like a book.”

I don’t know about a book title, but it has been the title of my life since December 24, 1956.  That was the day the #1 person in my life left me.  My healthy 37-year-old mom died of a heart attack.  As a 10-year-old, I began to fear my dad would die.  Through the next few years, I came to claim the words of Jesus in Matthew 6:33 as my life verse.  “But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness,  and all these things will be given you as well.”

I put Jesus first in my life and since that time, I’ve never walked alone.  He’s always with me.  So on this walk across America, I’m never alone.  Yes, my wife, Glenda, is with me in the RV as my invaluable support.  Yes, some dear friends have physically walked with me.  Yes, one of my sons surprised me and walked with me.  Also, hundreds of friends are walking with me through facebook and this blog.  But when Glenda takes pictures of me “walking alone,”  I am never alone.  Jesus is with me.

That makes this walk across America  exciting and special.  Consequently, this “walking with Jim” blog will take on a different dimension from time to time.  You will hear things on the blog that are teachings about life that I am gleaning from this walk.

I will share with you some of the fun and challenging moments of the walk across America.  But, I will also let you in on the great lessons my Lord is teaching me or reminding me about my walk with Him.

For example, this walk takes perseverance.  When my left ankle was tweaked while walking through Phoenix, it took perseverance to press on.   God teaches me in Hebrews 12:1 to “…run with perseverance the race marked out for us.”  He was reminding us to press on in our Christian faith even when the going gets tough.

I’m sure after a 28-mile-day, my feet are screaming the next morning, “we’re not doing that again today are we?  Let’s take the day off.  Let’s rest.”  In my walk with Jesus, it’s daily.  That means EVERY DAY.  Not just Sunday for an hour or once in a while, but daily.  Jesus said, “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.”  (Luke 9:23)

In the coming blogs you will hear what may sound like two different blogs.  However, to me they are the same, because “I never walk alone.”

How about your walk?  Your life?  Let me know how your walk is going?  Do you walk alone?

I’d enjoy hearing about your walk.

In the meantime, I walk on.  So far, I’ve walked 660 miles  on the way to New York City.  (Never alone.)

And thanks.  Thanks for walking with me (and the Lord) through this blog.  Walk with me through facebook.  It’s a visual story of the walk as photographed by my lovely wife and covered by our excellent  facebook team.

Jim / Walking with Jim  (never alone)



Categories: From His Eyes, On The Walk, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Jim,
    We spoke of you and your walk with the TCM National Directors, staff, faculty, and guests last week at Haus Edelweiss. We all prayed for you.
    Your lesson of never walking alone is humbling. Your example is inspiring.
    God bless you !

    • David,
      So good to hear from you and bless you for your encouraging words. Please give my greetings to the TCM National Directors and as well as the faculty and staff at the house (assuming you are still there.) We really miss being at the Haus this year, but are on a mission for the Lord in America and the Lord is blessing us. Seeing and hearing so much.
      Blessings, Jim

Leave a Reply

