Glenda’s Glimpses: Find Us Faithful

January 10, 2014

 Genesis 48:15

Then he blessed Joseph and said, “May the God before whom my fathers Abraham and Isaac walked faithfully, the God who has been my shepherd all my life to this day….

Oh may all who come behind us find us faithful
May the fire of our devotion light their way
May the footprints that we leave, lead them to believe
And the lives we live inspire them to obey
Oh may all who come behind us find us faithful

It’s a song that Steve Green recorded several years ago.  In fact, it’s one of Jim’s favorite songs.  What is it all about?  Legacy.  Leaving a legacy.  Joseph received the legacy of those who came before him.  They walked faithfully with God.  That legacy set the stage for God to be Joseph’s shepherd.  Joseph certainly experienced that.  God so took care of Joseph – through the many instances of wrong done to him.

So how am I walking?  How am I setting the stage for those who come behind me?  How do I usher in a blessing for them?  By walking faithfully.  It’s worth it.

Lord Jesus, guide me.  May your Holy Spirit permeate me, fill me.  Forgive me when I get off the path.  And I thank you that you are such a Good Shepherd for me – guiding, correcting, healing, protecting, providing  ___________,  _____________, _______________.

(The blanks are for you.)



Categories: Devotions, From Her Eyes, Glenda's Glimpses, Glenda's Glimpses

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

