Glenda’s Glimpses: River of Delights

January 11, 2014

Exodus 2:5
Then Pharaoh’s daughter went down to the Nile to bathe, and her attendants were walking along the riverbank. She saw the basket among the reeds and sent her female slave to get it.

Sometimes as we walk, we are not necessarily “going someplace,” we are just walking along. Perhaps we are taking in our surroundings, maybe savoring the moments, or we are spending some time thinking and praying, but then perhaps we are just walking. But in those times, we may come across surprises. I will have to say that while I was with Jim on his walk across America, I had many surprises. There were the beautiful flowers at a nursery where I parked in New Jersey, the young Amish man with a four-workhorse team pulling a wagon full of watermelons who rode by as I was parked along the road in Kentucky (I got to visit with him), the gorgeous panoramic view in Virginia, then the goat farm near Aguila, Arizona, (ever heard of it? Desolate) where I got to hold some baby goats.  Then there is Tomye, the Texas turtle, and the wild kittens in a Walmart parking lot.

I was memorizing a passage from Psalm 36 on the walk that had a phrase in it: “you give them drink from your river of delights.” That’s what I called the surprises God had for me. He would offer me drinks from His river of delights. I wasn’t looking for them, but I did pack an attitude that helped me take notice of them as they came during the routine. Pharaoh’s daughter found God’s “planted” little baby for her to find. She wasn’t rushing so she saw the foreordained bundle of joy from God’s river of delights.

Today, and tomorrow, and the next day, keep your eyes and the eyes of your heart peeled for delights God has floating by in His river. It will lift your spirit and bring impulsive moments of praise for our magnificent Father. It could even change the road ahead dramatically – but that’s another thought.



Categories: From Her Eyes, Glenda's Glimpses, Glenda's Glimpses

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

