Glenda’s Glimpses: Distractions and Intentions

February 1, 2014

Deuteronomy 11:19

Teach them to your children, talking about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.

 That’s what we do.  We walk along the road – going about our business.  We lie down – sometimes falling into bed after an exhausting day.  We get up.  I actually just got up – my time with the Father.  I have company here today – two of our granddaughters are sitting here, too.  But teaching them is more of a challenge because of this day of electronics.  They are playing on their Leap Pad (fun educational device) and I am on my iPad. Hmm. 

 I have to admit that sitting for me is a challenge.  I tend to be a “doing” person, rarely sitting.  I do sit in the morning because of my quiet time with Jesus.  It’s vital for me before I begin my day.  For me, it is easier to teach while “going.” 

 Then there is the electronic world that takes the attention of our young as well as old.  This distracting world is why, as Jim walked across America, we were encouraging families to have meals together without any electronics going unplugged.  It’s so easy for families, even if they do sit down together for a meal, to have some kind of electronics going – the TV (maybe news), or sitting and eating in front of the TV, texting, talking on the cell phone.  You actually have to carve out a “together time” without these distractions.  It all takes an intentional spirit – no electronics on purpose, finding ways to communicate God’s wonderful, gracious ways and His commands on purpose as we go.  Then its also important to intentionally have a time of teaching and worship together as a family.  Did I say on purpose?  I think this verse is teaching us to be intentional, teaching on purpose and relating on purpose, whether set time or as we go, and even cuddle time on purpose.

 May we be and do on purpose – be intentional.  



Categories: Devotions, Glenda's Glimpses, Glenda's Welcome

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. I’m old enough to remember the only “device” we had was a radio. TV came soon enough, and the world has expanded greatly since then. I’d love to see a “no electronic use” day, perhaps once a month. It would not only be nice, but would drive my grandchildren nuts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

