Glenda’s Glimpses: Pace

February 5, 2014

Genesis 33:14

Let my lord pass on ahead of his servant, and I will lead on slowly at the pace of the livestock that are ahead of me and at the pace of the children, until I come to my lord in Seir.

I know what Jacob, the “l” in this passage, meant here.  I am veering off my word “walk” to a cousin word, “pace,” because veering off is so much what happens when you are going anywhere with kids, or animals/dogs/pets, walking or otherwise.  I remember the day that we no longer had to take a diaper bag, stroller, etc.  I now can jump in the car and take off, walk out the front door to walk pretty quickly.  Once in awhile I have grand kids with me.  It is a whole different ballgame.  The pace is definitely different – or certainly should be.  Traveling with a family is a different pace than when Jim & I are traveling alone. 

Jacob had been through a whole lot by this time in his life and now he was traveling with a family, a large family.  He had learned a great deal and this lesson is a good one for all of us – be considerate, take into consideration the little ones, even “big” little ones.  Allow time to pace yourself for their sake. 

When our kids were young, I would get out the kids’ clothes Saturday night to have them ready to help in getting ready for church on Sunday.  It would help to make it not such a push in the morning.  I would need to get up earlier than they did so that I could have a plan for breakfast for them.  It all takes extra time, much consideration and a whole lot of patience.  Thank you, Jacob, for your reminder to pace my going – especially with others.



Categories: Devotions, From Her Eyes, Glenda's Glimpses, Glenda's Glimpses, Glenda's Welcome

Tags: , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Did you ever hear the expression, “but I’m getting ahead of my story”? Well, sometimes, I believe, we even get ahead of OURSELVES. Time to slow down, smell the roses, and pace ourselves.

Leave a Reply

