Glenda’s Glimpses: God’s Buffet and Bouquet

March 25, 2016

Psalm 119:1-3

Blessed are those whose way is blameless,

             who walk in the law of the Lord!

         Blessed are those who keep his testimonies,

             who seek him with their whole heart,

         who also do no wrong,

             but walk in his ways!

Psalm 119, the longest chapter in the Bible, is all about God’s ways. Throughout the chapter there are many words that describe His ways – His precepts, laws, commands, testimonies, decrees, statutes.

It’s all about obedience, seeking Him completely – with my whole heart – walking in His ways, praising Him as I do because I realize I can trust His ways. It’s about hiding His word in my heart – I would say planting it so it can take root, grow, produce fruit. There are so many ways to say that:  meditate on it. I think memorizing His word is a great way to make that happen. That doesn’t happen accidentally. You have to be very intentional about it.  With that in mind, I come to a life verse for me:

I will not neglect your word. v 16

But that is the second half of the verse. The first half said it is to be done with delight.

Not only is Psalm 119 the longest chapter in the Bible, but it is like going to a rich buffet about His word and how we can enjoy it.  Then comes one of the results:

                                         and I shall walk in a wide place,

                                         for I have sought your precepts. 

Psalm 119:45 ESV

The NIV (1984) says it this way:

I will walk about in freedom,

                                         for I have sought out your precepts.

Then there comes a bouquet of promises:  hope, unfailing love, freedom, delight, graciousness, understanding, insight, lighted path, refuge, sustained, awe, discernment, direction, righteousness, nearness, preservation, salvation, help. Can’t you just catch the aroma of blessings from His word, the delicacies?

So, delight in in His Word. Savor it. Then walk it out.



Categories: Devotions, Glenda's Glimpses, Glenda's Welcome

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Awesome!!! Great devotional thoughts 🙂

  2. Debbie walked 9 miles this week. Jim walked 9 miles also.

Leave a Reply

