Glenda’s Glimpses: Wide Places

April 1, 2016

Psalm 119:45

…and I shall walk in a wide place,
for I have sought your precepts.

I just read this verse in Exodus 3:8 where The Great I Am told Moses that He was going to bring the people into a spacious land. Then I thought, I wonder if that is the same Hebrew word for “wide” in Psalm 119:45. It is! Now, why does that mean so much to me? This week we flew from Los Angeles International Airport to Istanbul then back to Vienna for a mission trip. Have you ever flown that far? Then you know what I’m talking about – why that means so much. I had a window seat of three seats. That is not a wide, spacious place at all! How wonderful it was to get out of that plane. Actually, I had a spacious place before that. My stomach got upset mid-flight and I had to get out of my 24″-wide space in a hurry. I had to stretch out – actually had to lie down on the floor before I fell down. Is that how the Israelites were feeling? They needed to get out of there. Have you felt that way? I need out of here. I need freedom. That’s what the psalmist says is the result of following God’s way (seeking His precepts). I don’t know if it is always a matter of getting out of a situation as it is within – my spirit finds freedom, a wide, spacious place when I see things God’s way and follow it.

Thank you, Lord Jesus for the wide places in which you have brought me. Now that my stomach feels better, I can more easily thank You for giving me a word picture to help me understand what you are trying to tell me.



Categories: Devotions, Glenda's Glimpses, Glenda's Welcome

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Please change my email to melittl@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

